Quality over Quantity

I would like to think that I am a self-regulated learner. I know when I still need to study my lessons further or to devote more time in reading and re-reading new material when I need to. I have a fair idea of my abilities and how long it takes me to finish a task. This self-regulation comes useful in preparing my lesson plans.

We have adopted a spiral approach in teaching Science in my school which means that I have to teach Chemistry and Physics to my students (it’s called Integrated Science) as opposed to the traditional way of teaching Chemistry or Physics the entire year to Year III or IV students, respectively.

Given my previous experience in Physics, it is a challenge for me to teach a subject I once dreaded in school. I read the chapters I need to teach at least twice and practice myself with sample problems. This way, I can be confident in teaching the skills I need my students to learn. I am more flexible in my lessons in that I allow for “contingencies” – extra days that I can use – to drill the girls with word problems so they can familiarize themselves with the process of solving unknown physics variables. Quality is better than quantity. Sure, it would be nice if I would be able to finish teaching all of the content I was supposed to teach the girls. But I figured that mastery of the basic equations is more important, especially for the girls.

I think it is important to be a self-regulated learner so that I can also teach my students to be self-regulated themselves.

Leave a Reply

