Frustrating Strategies

When I was in Nursing school, I had a subject called “Strategies of Nursing Education” where the instructor conducted his lectures by throwing questions to the class and asking us, one by one, for our opinions.   This instructor hardly wrote anything on the whiteboard.  He did, however, had a PowerPoint presentation about the average income of nurses working in the US and elsewhere around the globe.  Nonetheless, his classes were fun though sometimes nerve-wracking, especially during those times when my brain cells just refuse to think anymore and I’m two people down the row being asked.

I remember him giving us copies (copies, not lecture, take note) of the PowerPoint on the different strategies in nursing a week before the only exam that was required for the course. Needless to say, the exam come the following week was something that threw the entire class: we all expected to answer essay questions, similar to how our question-and-answer lectures were done.  Instead, we were given situational questions about the practice of nursing in the hospital and perhaps a spattering of identification questions on nursing strategies.

I remember feeling angry frustration while taking that test. I mean, where does it all fit? He probably thought that providing us with the slides would suffice.  It did not.  I do not mind reading and discovering things on my own, mind you.  I just resented the fact that the main point of the course was skimmed over and hardly taught by the instructor who probably expected us to do self-study. I did pass that test and even got high marks but I vowed to avoid classes by that instructor ever again.

This just shows how the conduct of class encounters can drive learning and expectations on the part of the student.  Now that I am teaching Science, I try my best to help my students understand concepts.  My quizzes also give them a sample of how certain skills will be assessed so that they are better prepared for the summative assessments at the end of each grading period.

2 thoughts on “Frustrating Strategies

  1. Hi, T. Jewel! It really is best to teach the way we test our students. A mismatch between the two will end up with students saying this about the test: “Hindi naman tinuro ito!” And we really want to avoid that as we want everything we have done in the classroom to not go to waste. 🙂

    • Hi Ms. Irish! I know what you mean. I try my best to make sure that students understand the concepts I teach in class and not just memorize them. Practice exercises help them be familiar at concept application so that they can do the same for their tests.

Leave a Reply

